Picture
I spent Saturday night cleaning up the bike, putting on a new chain and mudguards and generally laying out all my tools and spares that I thought I might need for my Sunday morning outing with the Wheelers.  I had a big bowl of pasta and drank lots of water to give myself o fighting chance of making the distance.

I set off from the house at 08:45 giving myself plenty of time to get to the rendezvous point on South Deeside Road.  There were a few small rolling hills and 36miles from home we crossed over at the Dinnet bridge (west of Aboyne).  Along the way I picked up plenty of useful tips and hints about group riding and the lads were very welcoming.  With my confidence growing and feeling surprisingly well I decided to challenge on a couple of sprint 30's (bunch sprints to the 30mph signs, Cav wouldn't have had a look in).  It broke up the miles and offered something for everyone.

The last sprint wasn't a particularly great idea and some local knowledge might have been handy as it was followed by what felt like 10-15 miles of constant climbing.  For a good climber I don't think they would have been too tasking but I'm only 5 days into my lent and the excess 25 lbs haven't miraculously disappeared yet.  It was on the last mile or two that I started to run out of steam.  Unfortunately once you start, it happens very quickly.  I took a few long swigs on my sports drink and hoped for the best.  Luckily, my flagging was noticed by a couple of stronger riders and they coaxed me along for a couple of miles until we got a timely downhill and a break.  It was enough to give me a second wind and I could start to take a pull on the front again to say thanks to the guys.  We rolled into Echt and regrouped for a minute or two.

I've cycled to Echt a few times so I knew I was on the road home.  There were a few farewells along the last few miles as guys took their own preferred routes home... if I could have gone the route the crow flies, I would have.  The last 2 miles were a grind and I was more than relieved to make it back.

For amusements sake, I went upstairs and weighed myself.  On my cycle I drank 2 litres (4.4 lbs) of water, ate a banana and 2 energy bars.  When I stepped on the scales I was 5 lbs lighter than when I left... that's 9-10 lbs of fluid loss on 1 ride.  I'm delighted I made it round but I'll be a broken man tomorrow!




Leave a Reply.