Picture
Started this week in Shetland (google this website: www.cycleshetland.com for more details on routes and options around Shetland) getting ready for "Up Helly Aa".  The squad I'm involved with will be the Jarl squad (the ones in the picture that grow their beards and dress as vikings) in 2017.  So until then it's mostly about the drinking and dancing... and good God did we ever do that.  For me the drinking started at 5pm on Tuesday and finished at 8am on Wednesday morning after dancing my way through 11 halls with our rhythm and blues band.  2hrs sleep later I was up getting ready to go to the airport.  10mins before arriving at Aberdeen airport we hit the worst turbulence I've experience in over 30 years of flying, just as my hangover was hitting full swing!  Safe to say Wednesday night was a write off!

I'd managed a pretty decent spin and weights session on Monday and I squeezed in a run on Tuesday afternoon so I didn't feel too guilty about missing Wednesday.  Thursday came and went without any reasonable form of exercise, although the diet was surprisingly good.  Friday the weather was good enough to try the commute and I was keen to try out my all singing and dancing rear lights (equipment updates to follow) and my new Garmin 500.  Safe to say I was well chuffed with both and the commute wasn't too disappointing either considering it was my first time out and about for almost 3 weeks.  I think my interval spins have increased my power but the lack of miles seems to have taken it's toll on my stamina.

Saturday was a family day and nothing happened on the bike front.  Today (Sunday) went as well as could have been expected.  The wheelers were shaping up for an 80 miler and without my mudguards I didn't fancy spraying guys in the face for 4 hrs and I genuinely didn't think I'd complete an 80 miler so I opted for a 25 miler a bit closer to home with a few high intensity bursts. I managed 2 KOM segments on Strava that I've had my eye on for a few months and a respectable 2nd place on another one that I found on Friday (see my STRAVA tab at the top of the page for details).  

The fresh air today has given me a well timed boost and I'm going to amp up the milage this week to try and get myself best places to take advantage of the Cairngorms once the weather breaks for spring.

Cycle
3/2/2013 06:19:18 am

Not certain but it looks suspiciously like the chap keeping me off another KOM for today drove that segment... Either that or he cycled a 10mile stretch at avg. 40mph... Wonder how many other folks are missing a top spot on the podium?...

Reply



Leave a Reply.