Picture
Another week of weather has kept me indoors again, for most part.  The hour I spent clearing the drive with my 3 year old son is being claimed as a workout.  My back certainly knew about it the next morning.  

It's been an interesting week.  More snow keeping me indoors on the spin bike, again trying to vary my workouts.  A long slow grind, an interval session and a mock hilly climb.  A couple of squash sessions, the last session I got my a$$ handed to me by a near on pensioner, reinorcing how far I still have to go.  I also flew back to Shetland to catch up with friends and family before 'Up Helly Aa' on Tuesday.  The Clickimin Leisure Complex proving yet again to be an outstanding facility.  A nice cardio session followed by weights then a 'steam and swim' to finish the session.

Hopefully this will be the last of the cold snap and I can get back outdoors again later this week.  The West Highland Way trip in February is getting postponed to a free weekend in the summer and is being replaced with an 80mile recce of the Caledonia Etape.  I've never cycled the course beore and would like to get a real idea of the challenge I face in May and find out how far off fitness I really am... My head already knows the answer but I think my body needs a wake-up call!




Leave a Reply.