Picture
I was hoping to get some nice long road miles in this week to help build my base stamina (that I so badly neglected in the last quarter of 2012), but for me it simply wasn't possible so I had to improvise.

I went out for a couple of runs using my old Solomon goretex trainers, I'd forgotten how good they were - great shoe.  Conditions weren't best suited to fast times but it got the heart rate going and got some much needed fresh air in the lungs.  I had a couple of games of squash / rest days from the bike.  Spent a decent amount of time on that spin bike that I thought was a waste of money (now looks like it might have been a master stroke - thanks Russell) and of course, I took my new (new to me) mountain bike out for her maiden voyage.

Think it might be the most fun I've had on a bike for a while and trying to pedal up those short sharp hills with the back wheel spinning away certainly got the lactic fired up.  I pulled together a short video (in the "New Adventures" section), I don't think it's going to receive any oscar nominations but it was a bit of fun.

Back to the spin bike / turbo trainer or whatever anyone has for indoor cardio.  Not sure if it's just me but I have problems maintaining a heart rate above about 130, where as outside I struggle to keep it below 150-160.  And indoors 30 mins feels like an hour and an hour feels like an eternity.  The only thing I can console myself with at the moment is that every hour spent on that thing makes the hills of the Cairngorms just that fraction easier, and therefore more enjoyable!



#sags
20/1/2013 03:14:31 am

I have a similar problem with elevating the HR on the spinner. I'll start at around 90-100, and it feels like I'm having to work really hard to get it above 120. Exact opposite outdoors, I'd need to have a blast on a wattbike to see exactly what the pedals are doing. Keep it up showpiece, only a month to go to the WHW-GGW...

Reply
Joe Nicolson
20/1/2013 03:33:50 am

My permission slip has only been signed off as far as Fort William for extraction by the family. But if those hills are snow covered it's going to be slow progress!

Reply



Leave a Reply.