Picture
Week 2 was a bit of a mixed bag.  I felt definite improvements in my general fitness.  Hills seem slightly easier... sorry let me re-phrase that.  The hills are just as hard, but I'm getting slightly faster.  Weight has stayed the same, no gains there.  Didn't get any long miles in at the weekend, but I did manage to watch united pick up 3 points.

Week 3 is about re-focusing for me.  I've got 10 weeks until the Wheelers hit the hills in Majorca / Mallorca, to cover some long tough miles.  My major weakness being long miles and long hills.  Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be a legal cure for that so it's just going to have to be long stints in the saddle and mix it up as much as possible.  In an attempt to mix it up I'm planning to do the West Highland Way on a mountain bike in February.  Still needs to be confirmed but I'm working on it (Russell, I'll phone you later), more on that to follow.

The commutes are proving a great way to rack up some easy miles but I don't know if I'm a huge fan of cycling in the snow.  Not because I don't like the cold, more because I don't like how little breaking distance cars allow each other.  But I'll try to get 2 trips per week, minimum.

Also cashed in my birthday and Christmas presents (Wiggle vouchers) and picked up a Garmin 500 at the weekend and a load of reflectors and bike lights, should take the safety up a notch.  Looking forward to viewing my cadence readouts too, I love analysing the rides almost as much as doing them, so the more info the better.  Not quite the "aggrigation of marginal gains" but something along those lines.

So, with re-focus in mind.  I'll be gearing up towards my weekend ride with the Wheelers.  Hopefully get 100km under my belt on Sunday... might take me a while.  Working backwards, I'll try to get an enjoyable 20 miles under my belt on Saturday, maybe try to improve a few of my Strava Segments.  25 mile commute on Friday.  Squash/Rest on Thursday.  Run on Wednesday.  25 mile commute on Tuesday.  Squash and 1hr on the spin bike today. 




Leave a Reply.