Well, it's about 3 weeks since I had a whole bunch of gaffer tape stuck down my legs.  My Achilles isn't 100% fixed yet, but it's close enough that I've been able to train on it for the last week.  

My observations about having 2-3 weeks off the saddle are that my power hasn't really gone down too much but my fitness certainly dipped a bit.  My first return to the mid-week 10m TT saw me last to about the 8th mile before I ran out of gas.  But importantly, the legs weren't cramping up or causing too much bother.  I've basically been out every other day for the last 10 days and the fitness seems to be getting back up to where it was.

Other things I've changed: 
  • Cleat position has been moved further aft on the old boats (reduced rotation)
  • Further reduced the amount of ankle rotation by lifting the heel angle a touch.  It's probably not a long term solution but it's allowing me to train and lift the fitness back with very little leg pain.

So, with the bike finally built and the body passed fit, I've rather enthusiastically entered a few races, which may backfire dramatically but I'll enjoy it until it does.  Outings for the next 12 days:
  • Sunday - National 25m TT
  • Tuesday - Dundee Thistle 10m TT
  • Thursday - District Evening League Road Race (first ever road race - ouch!)
  • Sunday - Deeside Thistle 10m TT
  • Wednesday - Potential Ythan 15m TT

All that's left for me to do now is chillax and watch some inspirational movies.  Queue the Rocky boxset:
 
Mickey: You're gonna eat lightnin' and you're gonna crap thunder!

Duke: You're gonna have to go through hell, worse than any nightmare you've ever dreamed.  But when it's over, I know you'll be the one standing.  You know what you have to do.  Do it.

Duke: You know all there is to know about fighting, so there's no sense us going down that same old road again. To beat this guy, you need speed - you don't have it. And your knees can't take the pounding, so hard running is out. And you got arthritis in your neck, and you've got calcium deposits on most of your joints, so sparring is out.
Paulie: I had that problem.
Duke: So, what we'll be calling on is good ol' fashion blunt force trauma. Horsepower. Heavy-duty, cast-iron, piledriving punches that will have to hurt so much they'll rattle his ancestors. Every time you hit him with a shot, it's gotta feel like he tried kissing the express train [crack-crack].  Yeah! Let's start building some hurtin' bombs!





Leave a Reply.